We're a leading secondary marketplace for rugby tickets. Prices are set by sellers and may be above or below face value.


Six Nations tournament: A storied history

The Six Nations Championship, known as the pinnacle of European rugby, has a rich history that dates back over a century. It is an annual international rugby union competition between the teams of England, France, Ireland, Italy, Scotland, and Wales. The tournament's roots, however, stretch back to the Home Nations Championship, which began in 1883 and was contested by England, Ireland, Scotland, and Wales.

The Early Years: Home Nations Championship

The Home Nations Championship was the first international rugby union tournament in the Northern Hemisphere. It was a time when the sport was amateur, and matches were played on muddy pitches by players who were playing purely for the love of the game. It was not until 1910, following the inclusion of France, that the tournament became the Five Nations Championship.

The Five Nations Era

France's inclusion brought a continental flair to the championship, but it was not without its challenges. The French team faced travel difficulties and different playing styles, leading to a suspension from the tournament after the 1931 competition due to alleged professionalism and poor conduct. During this period, the competition reverted to the Home Nations format until France's readmission post-World War II in 1947.

Expansion to the Six Nations

The modern era of the tournament began with the addition of Italy in 2000, transforming it into the Six Nations Championship we know today. Italy's entry was seen as a move to expand the game's popularity and competitive scope, though they have yet to win the tournament.

Trophies and Triumphs

The Six Nations Championship has several trophies within it, the most prestigious being the Grand Slam, awarded to a team that defeats all others during the competition. There is also the Triple Crown, contested by the four Home Nations—if one of them beats the other three, they claim the Crown.

Cultural Impact and Evolution

The tournament has transcended sports, becoming a cultural event that brings nations together. It's a time for friendly rivalry, national pride, and showcasing some of the finest rugby talents. The competition has evolved with the professional era of rugby, with matches now held in large stadiums and broadcast worldwide, drawing millions of viewers.

The Six Nations has a storied tradition of fostering sportsmanship, respect, and camaraderie—values that are at the heart of rugby union. It has been a catalyst for some of the most memorable moments in rugby history, from stunning upsets to displays of extraordinary skill and endurance.

The Championship's Future

As the tournament moves forward, it continues to adapt, embracing technology and expanding its reach. Despite its growth and the changes it has undergone, the essence of the Six Nations remains the same—a celebration of rugby, national pride, and the enduring spirit of competition.

The Six Nations Championship is not just about winning or losing; it's about the passion for rugby that unites players, fans, and nations. It's about the history written and the history yet to be made. As we look to the future, the Six Nations promises to continue its legacy as one of the most thrilling and cherished competitions in the sport of rugby.

Discover the excitement of the Six Nations firsthand by securing your tickets to the next championship games, or show your support for the England team by finding the best England rugby tickets.