We're a leading secondary marketplace for rugby tickets. Prices are set by sellers and may be above or below face value.


Historic inaugural Home Nations championship

In a historic event that would shape the future of rugby, the inaugural Home Nations Championship, held in 1883, marked the birth of modern rugby union competitions. This tournament brought together four formidable national teams—England, Ireland, Scotland, and Wales—and laid the foundation for what would evolve into the illustrious Six Nations Championship we know today.

Four Nations, One Championship

The first-ever Home Nations Championship showcased the rugby prowess of England, Ireland, Scotland, and Wales. With a simple round-robin format, each team played against the other three. There were no bonus points or try-scoring bonuses as in contemporary rugby tournaments. Instead, the team with the best record at the end of the matches would be declared the champion.

Inaugural Champion: England

England emerged as the inaugural champions, securing their place in history by winning all of their matches. Their victories over Ireland, Scotland, and Wales established England as a rugby powerhouse in the making. This early success set the stage for England's enduring rugby tradition.

A Turning Point in Rugby History

The Home Nations Championship of 1883 holds a pivotal place in rugby history. It marked the beginning of regular international rugby competitions and signaled the formalization of rugby union as an organized and recognized sport. The tournament's success paved the way for the growth of rugby and the establishment of a competitive international calendar.

Continued Growth and Expansion

The success of the Home Nations Championship led to its continuation in the following years, with England, Scotland, Wales, and Ireland regularly competing against each other. The championship grew in popularity and became an annual fixture on the rugby calendar.

From Five Nations to Six Nations

In 1910, France was invited to join the tournament, transforming it into the Five Nations Championship. France's entry added a new dimension to the competition and introduced them as a formidable rugby nation. The championship continued as the Five Nations until 1999, when Italy's inclusion expanded it into the modern Six Nations Championship.

Legacy of Tradition and Rivalry

The first Home Nations Championship of 1883 laid the groundwork for one of the most prestigious rugby tournaments in the world. It set the stage for the fierce rivalries, traditions, and passionate rugby culture that continue to define the Six Nations Championship today, captivating rugby fans worldwide.

As rugby enthusiasts look forward to each year's Six Nations battles, they can trace the roots of this beloved tournament back to that historic inaugural event in 1883—a momentous occasion that forever changed the course of rugby history.